my swc (self watering container)

I worked on my first self watering container – took some pictures as I went along. Yesterday I bought the 10 foot drain pipe and tried to buy the 1″ PVC pipe but they  messed up on the pricing and charged me $6 something instead of $1 something, so I’ll get that later somewhere else.

First we need the tools.DSC08590

The drill is for drilling small holes in the lid (next picture). The clippers and saw are for cutting out most of the lid.

DSC08573

DSC08580I cut it too far in so had to go back on the long sides and cut closer to the edge. Then I duct taped it on.

DSC08586Next I put 4 containers in it – the main thing is they should be the same height and have some holes in them for water to flow through them. They support the lid.

I cut 2 lengths of drainage pipe the same as the black pots so there would be enough support. The video in my previous  post said to use all drainage pipe, but there is lots of wiggle room here to do whatever works and use what you have.

Then I cut 2 circles in the lid top for the 2 drainage pipe pieces to fit in them – they go above the lid and will be filled with dirt. The water will rise up through these and  be able to reach the soil reservoir where the plants will be planted.

DSC08585DSC08594DSC08595

DSC08600The upper right hand corner I left open for the UPC 20″ long and 1″ wide pipe. This is where the SWC is watered. Although, first it is supposed to be watered on top to get it going, then only through the pipe.

After the soil is put in, seeds may be planted or transplants placed in it. Black plastic (trash bag) should be put on top so that when it rains it won’t be flooded. The outer rim of the lid will hold the black plastic in place.

to be continued 🙂

Leave a Reply

