tgif – thank God it’s friday

Yay – another week almost finished. – 5 more weeks until dear daughter is on her way – to her destination – happy for her. I drove (or rode) with her to work – she works 7-4 today – didn’t want to be w/out a car all day. I want to mail my stocking hats and blanket to Cure International – the DJ from k-love will be leaving in 2 weeks so want to get them there in time – otherwise – Cure Intl. will make good use of them there later or some other place.

I came home and finished this “ugly quilt” Took about 2 hours – less if I wouldn’t have made the bag. There was extra because one sheet was king sized. I didn’t sew the comforter to the 2 sheets I sewed together; that way, if necessary there will be a sleep sheet for the warmer weather.
The 2 sheets

The comforter

sewed up and comforter inside

rolled up

bagged

photo of my rock work table

some rocks I’m finishing up. I think the shoe rock is my fav.

Now I need to make a cabbage/tofu salad because I have both ingredients. Found a recipe from epicurious.com and modified it quite a bit into the following recipe.

Tofu and Cabbage Salad with Almond Dressing

Salad
1 T. olive oil
1 lb. tofu, 1/2 inch strips lengthwise
1 medium head cabbage, chopped (about 2 1/2 c.)
cucumbers, broccoli or cauliflower or similar veggie
2/3 c. ch. green onions or leeks

Almond Dressing
1/2 c. plain yogurt
1/4 c. almond butter
1/2 tsp. Braggs Liquid Aminos

Saute tofu in heated oil 4 minutes on each side.
Combine veggies in a bowl.
Mix dressing ingredients with 2 T. water.
Pour 3/4 dressing over vegetables and toss.
Top salad with tofu strips and drizzle on remainder of dressing.

I packaged up the hats and blanket for CURE and also have one to mail to Knit for Kids that’s been sitting around too long.

finished the salad – love the small cast iron skillet – 1st time to use it.

sure is windy today – at least the sun is out in full force : )

Leave a Reply

