pita pocket fillers

I made pita pockets today – sourdough ones. Now I need ideas for fillers.

1) pita pocket recipes

2) pita pocket ideas

3) lots of recipes

4) more ideas

Yesterday I made the sourdough pita pockets:

Sourdough Pita

1/2 c. starter
1/4 c. water
1 1/2 tsp. honey
3/4 tsp. salt
1 c. flour

Preheat oven to 475 degrees.

Mix all ingredients and knead well. Cover and let rise ’til double (mine took about 6 or 7 hours). Add additional flour (up to 1/2 cup). Knead well again.

Divide dough into 3 equal parts. Form into smooth ball. Roll to 1/2 inch thick. Put on nonstick baking sheet and let rise 30 minutes.

Bake for 10 minutes or less.

dough eady to rise

dough after about 6 hours

I spread the dough out with my fingers and hands instead of rolling pin.

After baking I put each one in a small paper bag until cool then stored them in the glass casserole on the stove. I read before that sourdough bread shouldn’t be refrigerated but it can be frozen.

I enjoy our crabapple tree even though the crabapples aren’t edible in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

